Prescott gives statement on arrest

By JOEL COLEMAN

sports@starkvilledailynews.com

After being arrested for driving under the influence on Saturday, former Mississippi State quarterback Dak Prescott spoke out about the incident on Sunday in a statement to the NFL Network’s Ian Rapoport.

“I want to make a statement, and first take complete responsibility for my actions,” Prescott said in a message relayed by Rapoport on Twitter. “I’m very remorseful for my misjudgment. I want to apologize to my true supporters, my family, Mississippi State University, the NFL and the kids who look up to me. I won’t ask for forgiveness; however, I’ll show the true man I am and exhibit my character through my actions and behavior moving forward.”

The 22-year-old Prescott was arrested Saturday morning around 12:45 a.m. near Starkville’s Cotton District. Prescott posted bond, was released and spent Saturday hosting a football camp at Starkville High School.

It’s unknown how Prescott’s arrest will affect his status for the upcoming NFL Draft. Prescott, the most decorated player in MSU history, had begun to increase his draft stock in recent weeks with performances at the Senior Bowl, the NFL Combine and MSU’s Pro Day.

Aside from his skills, one of Prescott’s most attractive qualities was his highly-respected image. Several NFL Draft analysts chimed in following Prescott’s arrest on Saturday and indicated the happenings could very well have consequences.

“Wrong time to make a poor decision, Dak,” Dane Brugler of CBS Sports Tweeted.

The NFL Draft will be held from April 28-30.

Leave a Reply

