Blog – MSU’s Bougard wins SEC Field Athlete of the Year



With a phenomenal season still underway, senior Erica Bougard received yet another achievement for her accomplishments as she has been named the SEC Field Athlete of the Year.

During the SEC Championships, Bougard scored 6,250 points in the heptathlon breaking not only the Mississippi State school record, but also the SEC meet record. Bougard’s score secured her a spot in the NCAA Championships.

The Byhalia native is set to compete in three events at the national stage, including the heptathlon, the 100m hurdles and the high jump.

Throughout the season Bougard has broken three MSU school records and recorded numerous personal-bests. At the SEC Championships, Bougard also broke the high jump record after clearing 6-00.75.

This past weekend at the NCAA East Preliminaries Bougard recorded a personal-best in the 100m hurdles with a time of 12.99 to finish third overall.

Bougard was also apart of the 4x400m relay team at the NCAA East Preliminaries that set the school record after running a time of 3:32.13 to place 12th.

“Erica is a talented athlete, anyone can see that,” MSU coach Steve Dudley said. “She’s had a good season and has represented this university in a great way. ”

During the 2015 indoor season, Bougard was named the SEC Co-Field Athlete of the year.

Bougard will be back in action for the NCAA Championships on June 10-13.

For more information on the Bougard or the MSU track and field teams visit and follow on Twitter (HailStateTF).

Men’s Runner of the Year: 
Deon Lendore, Texas A&M
Men’s Field Athlete of the Year: Marquis Dendy, Florida
Men’s Co-Freshman Runner of the Year: Kenzo Cotton, Arkansas
Men’s Co-Freshman Runner of the Year: Christian Coleman, Tennessee
Men’s Freshman Field Athlete of the Year: Ioannis Kyriazis, Texas A&M
Women’s Runner of the Year: Dominique Scott, Arkansas
Women’s Field Athlete of the Year: Erica Bougard, Mississippi State
Women’s Freshman Runner of the Year: 
Brooke Feldmeier, Ole Miss
Women’s Freshman Field Athlete of the Year: Keturah Orji, Georgia
Men’s Coach of the Year: Mike Holloway, Florida
Women’s Coach of the Year: Lance Harter, Arkansas
Men’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Nathanael Franks, Arkansas
Women’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Jeannelle Scheper, South Carolina


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s