Blog – MSU’s Heck SEC Scholar Athlete of the Year again, Gridley makes All-Freshman team

Mississippi State’s Seth Heck may be the definition of a student-athlete.

The Bulldog senior was honored as the Southeastern Conference Scholar Athlete of the Year for the second year in a row. He is only the second player to win the award in back-to-back years – Alabama’s Emeel Salem won the award in 2006 and 2007.

The Edmonds, Wa., native earned a 4.0 GPA in all of his semesters at MSU. He graduated May 9 with a degree in business administration.

An MSU player has won the award the last three years – first time that has happened in SEC history. Sam Frost took the honor three years ago.

Heck is the fourth different Bulldog to win the award. Along with Frost winning in 2013, Jeremy Jackson won in 1998 and Burke Masters took the honor in 1990.

Shortstop Ryan Gridley was selected to the All-Freshman team. The Milton, Ga., native played in 49 games with 47 starts. He batted .243 with 21 runs driven in and one inside the park home run.

Defensively, Gridley made 11 errors and had a fielding percentage of .957.

Gridley is the first shortstop at MSU to be selected to the All-Freshman team since Adam Frazier in 2011.

Gridley will play for the Waynesboro Generals in the Valley Baseball League this summer.

Arkansas’ Andrew Benintendi won Player of the Year. Carson Fulmer of Vanderbilt was honored as the Pitcher of the Year, while LSU’s Paul Mainieri took home Coach of the Year and Alex Lange was the Freshman of the Year.

LSU dominated the All-SEC first team with five selections. The Tigers won the SEC regular season championship as well.

2015 SEC Baseball Awards

Player of the Year: Andrew Benintendi, Arkansas

Pitcher of the Year: Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt

Freshman of the Year: Alex Lange, LSU

Coach of the Year: Paul Mainieri, LSU

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Seth Heck, Mississippi State

First-Team All-SEC

C: Kade Scivicque, LSU
1B: Kyle Martin, South Carolina
2B: JaVon Shelby, Kentucky
3B: Conner Hale, LSU
SS: Alex Bregman, LSU
OF: Andrew Benintendi, Arkansas
OF: Andrew Stevenson, LSU
OF: Christin Stewart, Tennessee
DH/UT: Mitchell Nau, Texas A&M
SP: Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt
SP: Alex Lange, LSU
RP: Zach Jackson, Arkansas

Second-Team All-SEC Team

C: Mike Rivera, Florida
1B: Chris Chinea, LSU
2B: Max Schrock, South Carolina
3B: Josh Tobias, Florida
SS: Dansby Swanson, Vanderbilt
OF: Kyle Barrett, Kentucky
OF: Nick Banks, Texas A&M
OF: Logan Taylor, Texas A&M
DH/UT: JJ Schwarz, Florida
SP: Grayson Long, Texas A&M
SP: Cole Lipscomb, Auburn
*RP: Breckin Williams, Missouri
*RP: Wyatt Short, Ole Miss

Freshman All-SEC Team

C: Mike Rivera, Florida
1B: Evan White, Kentucky
2B: Dalton Guthrie, Florida
3B: Will Toffey, Vanderbilt
SS: Ryan Gridley, Mississippi State
OF: Keegan McGovern, Georgia
OF: Trey Harris, Missouri
OF: Jeren Kendall, Vanderbilt
DH/UT: JJ Schwarz, Florida
SP: Tanner Houck, Missouri
SP: Keaton McKinney, Arkansas
RP: Kyle Wright, Vanderbilt

SEC All-Defensive Team

C: Kade Scivicque, LSU
1B: Evan White, Kentucky
2B: Kyle Overstreet, Alabama
3B: Bobby Wernes, Arkansas
SS: Alex Bregman, LSU
OF: Andrew Stevenson, LSU
OF: Mark Laird, LSU
OF: Buddy Reed, Florida
P: Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt

* – Denotes a tie in voting. Ties are not broken.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s