Blog – Mullen wins Maxwell Club’s Collegiate Coach of the Year award

The honors keep rolling in for Mississippi State head coach Dan Mullen.

The sixth-year head coach has been recognized as the Maxwell Football Club’s Collegiate Coach of the Year, the organization announced Monday.

He is the first coach in the 115-year history of MSU football to claim a National Coach of the Year award. Mullen beat out Oregon’s Mark Helfrich and Ohio State’s Urban Meyer.

“It’s a tremendous honor to be recognized as the Maxwell Football Club’s Coach of the Year,” Mullen said in a school release. “It’s a testament to our players and staff for everything we have accomplished this year. We are proud of the program we have built at Mississippi State. I want to thank the Maxwell Football Club and its members.”

The Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year Award has been presented every year since 1989. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA head football coaches, sports information directors and selected national media.

Mullen will be formally presented the award at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala on Friday, March 13, 2015 at the Tropicana Casino and Resort in Atlantic City, N.J.

It is the third honor Mullen has won this season. He won the AFCA Region 2 Coach of the Year and the Associated Press Southeastern Conference Coach of the Year.

“There’s no question that Dan Mullen of Mississippi State deserves every one of them,” MSU Athletic Director Scott Stricklin said earlier this month about Mullen and Coach of the Year honors. “The way he’s changed expectations, the way he’s built this program, he deserves any of those awards that come his way.”

Mullen led the Bulldogs to the first ever 10-win regular season and the first-ever No. 1 ranking this year. The Bulldogs spent five weeks in the top spot before losing two of their final three games to fall out of contention for the inaugural College Football Playoff to be played in January.

The Bulldogs broke 10 single-season team records this year, and saw several individual records broken as well. Quarterback Dak Prescott broke 10 of them, with field goal kicker Evan Sobiesk breaking two records.

The Bulldogs end the season with a matchup against Georgia Tech in the Capital One Orange Bowl on New Year’s Eve in Miami.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s