Blog – MSU’s Mullen a finalist for Maxwell Coach of the Year Award

A day after picking up two Coach of the Year Awards, Mississippi State head coach Dan Mullen was nominated for another.

The sixth-year Bulldog head coach was one of three finalists for the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year Award.

Ohio State’s Urban Meyer and Oregon’s Mark Helfrich were the other two finalist. Both Meyer and Helfrich will lead their teams into a playoff game early next year.

Mullen served as quarterbacks coach and offensive coordinator under Meyer for several years and they won two national championships at Florida.

Mullen won the AFCA regional Coach of the Year and the Associated Press Southeastern Conference Coach of the Year on Monday.

Finalist voting opens Wednesday and runs until Dec. 21 for the Maxwell Coach of the Year Award. The winner will be announced Dec. 22. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA head football coaches, sports information directors and selected national media.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s