Blog – Mullen wins AFCA Coach of the Year honors

Mississippi State head coach Dan Mullen won the American Football Coaches Association Region 2 Coach of the Year on Monday.

It is the first honor Mullen has earned this season after leading the Bulldogs to a 10-2 record and a second place finish in the Southeastern Conference Western Division.

Mullen also led the Bulldogs to a No. 1 ranking – the first time ever – for five weeks.

“There is no question in my mind that the job that Dan Mullen has done here at Mississippi State, he deserves every one of those awards,” MSU Athletic Director Scott Stricklin said Sunday afternoon. “He can’t get enough credit for the unbelievable things that have happened in our football program under his leadership.”

The 10 wins are the most by a MSU team in the regular season. The Bulldogs also finished No. 8 in both the Associated Press and Amway Coaches polls, the highest ranking ever to finish a regular season.

The Bulldogs broke 22 school records this year as well.

Duke’s David Cutcliffe won Region 1, Minnesota’s Jerry Kill was the winner in Region 3, TCU’s Gary Patterson won Region 4 and new Florida head coach Jim McElwain won Region 5 for what he did at Colorado State this season.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s