Blog – Mullen SEC AP Coach of the Year

Mississippi State head coach Dan Mullen won the Associated Press Southeastern Conference Coach of the Year on Monday.

Mullen is the sixth Bulldog head coach to earn the SEC Coach of the Year Award and the first since Sylvester Croom won in 2007.

MSU quarterback Dak Prescott and offensive lineman Ben Beckwith were selected to the All-SEC First Team. Prescott is the fifth MSU signal caller to make the first team and first since Don Smith was selected to the team in 1986. Tommy Pharr made the team in 1968, current Bulldog staffer Rocky Felker made the team in 1974 and Dave Marler made the team in 1978.

Running back Josh Robinson, defensive lineman Preston Smith and linebacker Benardrick McKinney made All-SEC Second Team.

Alabama wide receiver Amari Cooper was selected as the SEC Offensive Player of the Year. Missouri’s Shane Ray won Defensive Player of the Year and Georgia running back Nick Chub was the Freshman of the Year.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s