Blog – MSU’s Prescott finalist for Manning Award

Mississippi State quarterback Dak Prescott is a finalist for the 2014 Manning Award, as announced on Wednesday.

The award is given to the top quarterback in college football and is the only quarterback award that takes the candidates’ bowl performances into consideration in its balloting.

Prescott is among 11 finalists. The others include Ohio State’s J.T. Barrett, TCU’s Trevone Boykin, Marshall’s Rakeem Cato, Colorado State’s Garrett Grayson, UCLA’s Brett Hundley, USC’s Cody Kessler, Oregon’s Marcus Mariota, Baylor’s Bryce Petty, Alabama’s Blake Sims and Florida State’s Jameis Winston.

Prescott is also a finalist for the Maxwell Award, given to the Most Outstanding Player in college football and the O’Brien Award, given to the top quarterback.

The Haughton, La., native won the Conerly Trophy, given to the top four-year college football player in Mississippi, Tuesday.

He has thrown for 2,996 yards and 24 touchdowns. He has also rushed for 939 yards and 13 more scores.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s