Blog – Day, Johnson on Rimington, Mackey watch lists



Mississippi State continues to have individual players gain recognition this preseason.

A day after three Bulldogs were selected to award watch lists, two more MSU players found their names on college football award watch lists Tuesday.

Senior tight end Malcolm Johnson is on the watch list for the John Mackey Award, presented annually to college football’s most outstanding tight end, while senior center Dillon Day is on the Rimington Trophy watch list, given to college football’s most outstanding center.

Monday saw junior quarterback Dak Prescott a part of the Maxwell Award



watch list, given to the National Player of the Year, junior linebacker Benardrick McKinney’s name on the Bednarik Award watch list, presented to the Defensive Player of the Year, and senior wide receiver Jameon Lewis on the Hornung Award watch list, awarded to the most versatile player in college football.

Johnson, who finds his name on the Mackey Award watch list for the third straight year, was a 2013 second team All-Southeastern Conference selection by the league’s coaches in his junior year. He was third on the team with 30 catches for 391 yards. He also hauled in thee touchdowns.

During that junior season he was selected as the Oct. 30 John Mackey Tight End of the Week after catching four passes for 70 yards, including a 60-yard touchdown, in a 28-22 win over Kentucky. His best game came against top-ranked Alabama. Johnson had a personal-best six catches for 84 yards against the Crimson Tide.

In his career, the Tuscaloosa, Ala. native has played in 32 games and been a starter for 11 of those. He has 51 receptions for 768 yards and seven touchdowns in his first three seasons with the Bulldogs.

The Mackey Award has been presented since 2000. This year the winner will be announced on Dec. 11 at The Home Depot college Football Awards Red Carpet Show, airing on ESPNU.

Day is also on the Rimington watch list for a third-straight year. The West Monroe, La. native has started in 33 career games.

The winner of the Rimington Trophy will be selected determining the consensus All-American center pick from three existing All-America teams. The three All-American teams consist of Walter Camp Foundation, Sporting News and Football Writers Association of America.

Johnson and Day open the 2014 season with the Bulldogs at home when they host in-sate foe Southern Mississippi on Aug. 30.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s