Blog – Final: No. 6 UCLA 8, No. 7 Mississippi State 0, College World Series championship series (with video)

Records: MSU (51-20), UCLA (49-17)

Attendance: 27,127

Game time: 3:20

Winning pitcher: Nick Vander Tuig (14-4)

Losing pitcher: Luis Pollorena (6-4)

Save: None

Play of the game: Mississippi State made two errors on a sacrifice bunt in the first inning. UCLA’s Kevin Kramer laid down a bunt with a runner on first. MSU pitcher Luis Pollorena had troubling fielding it. He was charged with an error. He finally got it and threw to first. Wes Rea couldn’t handle the throw and he was charged with an error. Brian Carroll ended up at third and the ver next batter, Eric Filia, had a RBI sac fly to plate the first run. That’s all the Bruins needed.

Big inning: UCLA scored two runs in the third, fourth and eighth innings.

Stat of the game: First: It is the first baseball national championship for UCLA.

Top Dawg: This goes to the entire MSU team for the season they had. It is the best season in a history of good seasons for a Bulldog baseball team. It was fun to watch a lot of it this year.

Multiple hits: MSU (none) UCLA (Kevin Kramer 2, Eric Filia 2, Cody Regis 2)

Quote of the night: 

“I would like to thank the Lord for getting this team here. It was His will and I would like to thank everybody for what they have done for the program. Coach Cohen, everybody involved. I would like to thank Omaha for being supportive of us and welcoming us, open arms to this team.” – MSU senior RHP Kendall Graveman

Song to describe game: I Will Remember You by Sarah Mclachlan One of the best MSU baseball seasons has come to an end. All of the players and many Bulldog fans will remember this season for the rest of their lives.

Notes: MSU notes


Head coach John Cohen

Senior RHP Kendall Graveman

Junior SS Adam Frazier

What it means: UCLA wins the national championship. The Bulldogs finish as runners up and will more than likely be number two when all the final polls are announced.

All Tournament Team:

C Brian Holberton, North Carolina

1B Wes Rea, Mississippi State

2B Brett Pirtle, Mississippi State

3B: Colin Moran, North Carolina

SS: Pat Valaika, UCLA

OF: Michael Conforto, Oregon State

OF: Eric Filia, UCLA

OF: Hunter Renfroe, Mississippi State

DH: Trey Porter, Mississippi State

P: Adam Plutko, UCLA

P: Nick Vander Tuig, UCLA

Most Outstanding Player: Adam Plutko, UCLA


One thought on “Blog – Final: No. 6 UCLA 8, No. 7 Mississippi State 0, College World Series championship series (with video)

  1. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.
    I do not know who you are but certainly
    you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s