Blog – Robson’s walk-off propels MSU to DH sweep (with video)

Mississippi State freshman outfielder Jacob Robson singled up the middle driving home Matthew Britton giving the Bulldogs a 5-4 win over Alabama and a double header sweep.

“In those moments you are not really thinking too much,” the Windsor, Ont. Canada native said. “You know how hard you practice and I work very hard to get to this moment. It’s for moments like that.

“I was just trying to put the ball in play. The infield was in, so I was just looking to get it out of the infield.”

Robson delivered three hits for the Bulldogs as they clinched the Southeastern Conference series.

“Whenever I think about moves with the Robson kid, I always have to take a deep breath and remember, he turned 18-years old about two and a half months ago,” MSU (35-13, 12-11) head coach John Cohen said. “He has to be the youngest player in the Southeastern Conference.”

The Tide threatened to take the lead in the top of the 10th. Ben Bracewell started the inning and gave up leadoff single before retiring the next two batters.

MSU went to senior left hander Chad Girodo with left-handed batter Georgie Salem coming to bat.

Girodo walked Salem and right hander Kyle Overstreet was coming to bat.

MSU pitching coach Butch Thompson looked to be on his way to the mound to get Girodo, when Cohen called him back.

“Our feeling was, we have a senior there and he is going to be able to throw his breaking ball in the strike zone,” Cohen said. “Girodo just wanted the baseball in that moment and just felt like it was important to let him have that opportunity.”

The move paid off as Girodo struck out Overstreet to end the top of the 10th inning.

“They were outside the dugout and I thought they were coming to get me,” Girodo said. “I didn’t know what to do, so I stepped on the mound and maybe they will let me go. Mitch threw down a sign, so I was ‘here we go, I’m going to get him.’

“I wasn’t going to give in. I wasn’t really around the zone big time, but I threw my slider  to him. There was a runner on third and if I was going to get beat, I was going to get beat on my best pitch.”

Girodo (4-1) picked up the win.

Brett Pirtle drove home Derrick Armstrong in the bottom of the eighth inning to tie the game at 4-4.

“It was a fastball away,” Pirtle said. “I was just trying to protect the plate and try to put it in play. It worked out. Luckily I squared a ball up, put it in play and it worked out.”

Game One

Mississippi State 10,

Alabama 6

The Bulldogs scored seven runs in the second inning to pick up the win in game one of the double header.

Friday’s game one was moved to Saturday due to rain.

“I don’t get to make the decision when we are going to play because of weather,” Cohen said. “(Friday) was kind of a difficult decision because it’s so hard to win a double header in the Southeastern Conference. Our kids, I’m really proud of them. They really battled through this.”

Trey Porter doubled to left field driving home two runs and Frazier had a two-run single to highlight MSU’s second inning.

Rea homered to center field in the third inning to give MSU an 8-0 lead in the early going.

Alabama didn’t go away. The Crimson Tide scored two runs third and four in the fifth to cut MSU’s led to 8-6.

Porter delivered another two-run double in the fifth inning.

MSU sophomore left hander Ross Mitchell pitched 1.1 innings in relief to pick up his team-best ninth win of the season.

Jonathan Holder pitched 2.2 innings in relief to pick up his 13th save of the season. He ties Scott Tanksley (1994) and Van Johnson (1997) for the most saves in a single season.

MSU will go for the sweep today. Game time is set for 1:30 and can be seen on CBS Sports Net.

The Crimson Tide will throw sophomore left hander Justin Kamplain (1-0, 4.82 ERA), while the Bulldogs will go with sophomore lefty Jacob Lindgren (4-2, 3.47).

Leave a Reply

