Blog – Mississippi State ends spring drills with Maroon/White game (with video)

Mississippi State has been working all spring to get ready for the 2013 football season.

On Saturday they ended those spring drills with the Maroon/White game.

Junior walk-on quarterback Sam Cowart led the Maroon team to a 38-28 win over the White team in at Davis Wade Stadium.

“He was talking trash to me in the locker room, showing me what he could do,” MSU head coach Dan Mullen said. “I think it just shows it’s a great learning for anybody. If you’re willing to work hard , you’re going to put the time in and you’re going to go practice, you’re going to see great development. Sam is a great example of that out there. He’s worked really hard this spring, took advantage of his opportunity, he came out and played well (Saturday).”

Cowart finished the day completing 23-of-33 passes for 23 yards and one touchdown.

“The Lord bless me with a great opportunity here as a walk-on,” Cowart said. “You always can get better. (Saturday) I had great teammates, offensive line did a great job and Milton and Holloway did a great job running. I feel like I can develop better over the summer. I have Dak and Tyler ahead of me, those are two great guys I can learn from.”

Cowart found junior wideout Jeremey Chappelle for a 55-yard passing touchdown in the first half. Chappelle did most of the work as he weaved his way through the defense for the score.

The Maroon team got a big lift from redshirt freshman Brandon Holloway in the second half. The hybrid offensive player rushed for a 13-yard and 8-yard touchdown in the fourth quarter to ensure the victory for the Maroon squad.

He led the Maroon team in rushing with 130 yards on 12 carries. He had a long of 56 yards.

“I thought it was pretty good,” Holloway said. “The first half it was a little slow. I got a few carries here, a few catches there, but the second half I came out and it was more natural for me. I came out and just started rolling. It was pretty good.”

White team quarterback Tyler Russell played on the first half of the spring game. He was 13-of-24 for 179 yards and two touchdowns.

Redshirt freshman linebacker DeAndre Ward led the White team and all tacklers with 14 tackles. He had 11 solos, three assists and two tackles for loss.

“I love the kid,” MSU defensive coordinator Geoff Collins said. “He flies around. I joke with him every day when he’s going to get water, ‘No get him a protein shake or something. Put some pounds on him.’ We’ve had some injuries this spring and he’s stepped up. He’s been giving an opportunity and he’s just run with it. It’s been a pleasant surprise.”

For complete stats of MSU’s spring game click here

Leave a Reply

