Baseball

BREAKING NEWS: MSU signee Corey Dickerson has signed with Colorado Rockies

Meridian CC outfielder Corey Dickerson

Mississippi State baseball signee Corey Dickerson has decided to forego his final two years of college eligibility to sign with the Colorado Rockies after the franchise selected him in the eighth round of the 2010 Major League Baseball Draft this week.

“It was probably the toughest decision of my life to turn down a wonderful scholarship at Mississippi State,” Dickerson said. “I just felt like I had to make this decision so I could tell my kids one day I didn’t turn down the opportunity to follow my dreams.”

It is the second year in a row the Rockies organization has drafted the Meridian Community College prospect as they selected him in the 29th round in 2009. Dickerson hit .459 with 21 home runs and 71 RBIs this past season at Meridian Community College. As a freshman, he batted .381 with 15 homers and 54 RBIs.

Rockies scout Damon Iannelli was allowed by his organization to offer Dickerson a contract that exceeded the slot value for an eighth round pick as he signed to play for over $100,000. Dickerson would not reveal the exact amount of the contract when he spoke Friday afternoon with The SDN Bulldog Blog.

“The Rockies were truthful with me throughout this process and I thank them for that,” Dickerson said.

Dickerson leaves for Casper, Wyo. Saturday to play for the Casper Ghosts, an advanced rookie ball team in the Rockies minor league system.

“Practice starts Sunday and my first game is June 21st, this is all happening so fast it seems like,” Dickerson said. “They’ve told me I’ll start out at center field and if they have to move me then they will but that’s where I want to play.”

Dickerson had a meeting with the Mississippi State coaching staff yesterday but Cohen admitted to The SDN Bulldog Blog that once he was drafted high again by the Colorado Rockies that “we were in trouble to get him here.”

John Cohen

“Damon is a guy I played high school baseball with and he’s a great baseball man and scout,” Cohen said. “When you’re a younger coach you get more disappointed than I do now because we had been preparing for Corey to not play for us.”

Cohen confirmed to The SDN Bulldog Blog that the other four other signees that were selected including shortstop Taylor Stark  (42nd round, Washington), shortstop Demarcus Henderson (43rd round, Houston), RHP/infielder Daryl Norris (46th round, Texas) and outfielder C.T. Bradford (48th round, Cleveland).

“I’m excited about this recruiting class but I’m also big on the idea of not making them have to produce great things in their first year too,” Cohen said.

All of the SDN Bulldog Blog readers: feel free to follow me on Twitter at http://twitter.com/matthewcstevens for up-to-date Mississippi State coverage.

About sdnmsu

Mississippi State Beat Writer for the Starkville Daily News.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “BREAKING NEWS: MSU signee Corey Dickerson has signed with Colorado Rockies

  1. interesting article, thx!

    Posted by Mike | June 20, 2010, 1:33 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Miss. State baseball loses no drafted high school signees « The SDN's Bulldog Blog - August 17, 2010

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,025 other followers

